Lakshmi Narayan Temples

The Lakshmi Narayan temple, Laxminarayan Temple in New Delhi 03-2016.jpgbuilt in the 10th century by Raja Sahil Verman, includes the main Lakshmi Narayan temple, dedicated to the Vaishnavite sect. It has been built to suit the local climatic conditions with wooden chatries and has the shikara, and the sanctum sanctorum (Garbhagriha), with an antarala and the mantapa. A metallic image of Garuda, the vahana (mount) of Vishnu is installed on the dwajastamba pillar at the main gate of the temple. In 1678, Raja Chhatra Singh adorned the temple roof with gold plated pinnacles, as a riposte to Auranagzeb, who had ordered demolition of this temple.


Bharmour, formally known as Brahmpura, was the ancient capital of Chamba district, India . Situated at an altitude of 7000 feet in the Budhil valley, Thousand miles to the south-east of Chamba, Bharmour is known for its scenic beauty and for its ancient temples. Some of the temples are believed to date from the 10th century. As the whole country around Bharmour is supposed to belong to Lord Shiva, it is popularly spoken of as Shiva Bhumi, abode of Lord Shiva. Being the home of an interesting tribe of Gaddis, it is also called Gadderan.

The Lord Shiva granted a boon to Brahamani Devi that all persons intending to go on pilgrimage to Manimahesh must have a dip in Brahmani pool. Failing this, their pilgrimage would not be acceptable to Lord Shiva. Brahmani Mata Bharmour. In September 2007.

Church of San Francisco

Dalhousie , Himachal Pradesh , India
This Catholic Church is a very important monument in the Subhash Chowk. This church was built in the year 1894 from the contributions made by the Army and civil officials and civilians. This Church is administered and maintained by the Diocese Cathoilic of Jalandhar. Church of St. Francis on Prtrain Hill is believed to have been built on the line of a certain church in England . Beautiful glass work and complicated work of the stone can be seen in the Church. The service takes place every Sunday. On the side of the Church is the residence of the priest. The building is called Alverna best known by locals as “Lambe Chole Wale Padri Ki Kothi “.

Pin Trekking Valley National Park

Himachal Pradesh , India
Devoid of capable motor roads,Morning scene in Thuskeo Dhar.jpg there is no other way to explore this park on foot. It has several hiking trails that cross the vast expanse of pasture, where visitors can be rewarded with rare sightings of Ibex, or Blue Sheep. Several easy hiking trails are available, apart from the difficulty for the more difficult for mountaineering enthusiasts. Unlike the low foothills of the Himalayan ridge, the upper regions have wide expanses of land that are resoundingly challenging without surprises around the turn of a curve.


Dalhousie is a mountain resort full of colonial charm that keeps persistent echoes of the British Empire. Run along the five hills (Kathlog, Potreys, Tehra, Bakrota and Balun) is named after the 19th century British city Governer General Lord Dalhousie. It was popular with members of the British Army in the 1860s. The town has several high altitude shades
with a wide variety of vegetation that includes majestic slots pines, cedars, oak and rhododendrowns flowers. Rich in colonial architecture, the city retains some beautiful churches. St. John’s Church is the oldest built in 1863, St. Francis was built in 1894 Andrew, St. Patric in 1903 and St. in 1909.

There are also magnificent views of Chamba valley and the mighty Dhauladhar range with its imposing snowy peaks filling a whole horizon. By road Dalhousie is about 555 km from Delhi, 52 km from Chamba by Banikhet and 46 km via Khajjiar and the head of the nearest lane to Pathankot is 85 km away.Satdhara a place known for its water springs Seven that are believed to have medicinal properties.

Khajjiar Lake

Khajjiar , Himachal Pradesh , IndiaKhajjiar.jpg
Khajjiar a picturesque lake lake in the middle of a meadow and that is surrounded by thick woods. An ideal place to go for a picnic as well as for relaxation.


Twenty kilometers from Chamba is the village of Saho on the right bank of the Salt River. The village is situated on a plateau of great beauty. Saho is famous for its temple dedicated to the god Chandra Shekhra ie the moon-crowned god, Shiva. The temple is hidden behind the village in a grove. Two magnificent images of Shiva can be seen at the entrance and a huge Shivaling is consecrated in the sanctuary. Opposite the temple is a Nandi-sized bull carved with fine details.


Chhatrari is 45 km from Chamba via road is this famous village of Chhattrari. The village is inhabited mostly by the Gaddies who are semi-postral lot engaged in rearing of sheep and goats. This village, situated at a height of 6,000 feet (1,800 m), it is famous for its remarkable hill-style temple of Shakti Devi.

Chattrari has a beautiful Deodar forests in the back drop and small and ancient town ship. The Chattrari village has a temple complex constructed during 680 AD, the temple has specific sculpture using wood and slate roof. The Idol placed inside the temple is made of Panchloha (An alloy of 5 metals), and is quite lustrous. it is said by the elders of the village that the temple used to be a revolving one on base over a pivot. But, later on it was fixed to the ground. The old idols which were made of stone, are now fixed outside the shrine, having been replaced by a statue made of an alloy.

The outer walls of Sanctum sanctorum, are painted with vegetable dyes mainly depict Gods like Vishnu, Narsingh (The God with human body and Lion head, the avatar of Lord Vishnu) and other goddesses. An idol of the sculptor “Gugga” also finds a place in the main shrine on the left corner of the Shakti Mata statue.

Every year in the month of September on the third day of Mani Mahesh Fair in Bharmour, water from Mani Mahesh Sarovar (Lake) is brought and the idol of Shakti Mata is performed a holy bath. the masked dances are performed by the local inhabitants, a Hindu Shepherd community locally known as “Gaddi”. On this occasion, the Gaddis offer many sheep and goat as sacrifice before Mata.

Bhuri Singh Museum

Bhuri Singh Museum in Chamba formally opened on 09-14-1908, is named after Raja Singh who ruled Bhuri Chamba from 1904 to 1919. Bhuri Singh donated his collection of paintings family to the museum. The idea of ​​opening a public museum came from J. Ph. Vogel, an eminent indologist who served ASI and who, through a thorough investigation, had discovered, read and analyzed ancient inscriptions scattered throughout the territory of the state of Chamba. These inscriptions mostly Sarda script shed light on the medieval history of Chamba. The prasastis of Sarahan , Devi- ri – Kothi and Kihar mul are currently preserved in the museum.

Paintings of Bhagwat Purana and Ramayana in the peculiar style are inspired by the Basohli language of painting, while Krishna, Sudama, Rukmini vivah and Usha Anirudh and portraits in first Guler- Kangra style were executed by the artists who were sponsored by the rulers Chamba. The Chamba-rumals embroidery are related in style, since their drawings were made by Pahari painters although the embroidery was done by the women of the home.

In addition to these most important elements of the collections, there are coins, jewels and costumes hill-both traditional and real, weapons and armor, musical instruments and various decorative objects. The museum is open from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm throughout the year except Mondays and other officially made public holidays. While Krishna, Sudama, Rukmini vivah and Usha Anirudh and portraits in the first Guler- Kangra style were executed by the artists who were sponsored by the Chamba rulers. Chamba-rumals embroideries are related in style, since their drawings were made by Pahari painters although the embroidery was done by the women of the home.

Rang Mahal

One of the main monuments, Rang Mahal is located in SURAWA Mohalla. The foundation of Rang Mahal was laid by Raja Umed Sing (1748-1764). The Rang Mahal superstructure, which is masonry, belongs to A later date with its southern portion, built in 1860 by Sri Raj Singh. The architecture of Rang Mahal is an amalgam of Mughal and British styles.

This palace was the residence of a branch of the ruling family. Its strong as seems to justify its use as a real barn and treasury which is located on its western side. Once the palace was buzzing with the activity of the busy server and the pranks of the royal blood, but now under the aegis of the Craft Department of the State Government, The majority of the rooms of this palace are being used as workshops for the manufacture of shoes, chapples and rumals. A series of decorative and colorful wall paintings have been removed and transferred to the Delhi National Museum. Some of the paintings on the walls and richly painted gates of the palace can be seen in the Bhuri Singh Museum, Chamba .

Akhand Chandi Palace

The construction of this housing building of the Chamba family was founded by Raja Umed Singh times between 1748-1764 AD. The place was rebuilt and renovated during the reign of Raja Sham Singh with the help of British engineers. The Darbar Hall (Marshal Hall) was built in 1879 by the Chief Captain and Mehal Zanana was added in the reign of Raja Bhuri Singh. Subsequent additions and modifications clearly betray Mughal and British influence. In 1958 the palace building was sold by the descendants of the royal family to the Himachal Government. The latter was handed over to the Department of Education for the purpose of initiating a Government College and the District Library. The palace has an imposing view of the Chaugan, Laxmi Narayana Temple,

Chamunda Devi Temple

Chamba , Himachal Pradesh , India
This temple is located in the heart of the Shah Madar hill overlooking the city to the south east. The temple is located on a raised platform. The temple has artistic carvings on its lintels, pillars and ceiling. Behind the main temple is a small shrine of the god Shiva in the Shikhara style. There is another platform in front of this temple where two very old peepul trees give shelter to the visitors. From this platform a bird’s eye view of most landmarks in the city, including Chaugan, Circuit House, most of the temples and Ravi River can be had. The temple is being looked after by Archaeological Survey of India .

This temple can be approached by road from Chamba (3 kms). It is located on the right side of the Chamba-Jhamwar road. School children go and pilgrims prefer to take the flight of steps from Sapri to this temple. Steps were not taken by Raja Raj Singh (1764-1794 AD). The temple is an ideal place to picnic throughout the year, as it has a simple approach and an imposing view.


Pangi is a Thesil of Himachal Pradesh . The Pangi Valley is a remote, rugged and poorly developed tribal area in Himachal Pradesh state. Pangi valley is divided into the Saichu, Hudan Bhatori and Sural Bhatori valleys. These are inhabited at elevations from 7,000 feet (2,100 m) to 11,000 feet (3,400 m) above sea level. Roads are poor, with few of them surfaced. The Saach Pass at an altitude of 14,500 feet (4,400 m) is open for vehicular traffic between mid June and October, but closed by heavy snow at other times of the year.

Subhash Baoli

Dalhousie , Himachal Pradesh , India
Located at a distance of 1 km from Dalhousie , Subhash Baoli is a scenic viewpoint where the famous freedom fighter often used to sit and meditate while it was staying during 1937. Subhash Baoli is now a popular tourist Viewpoint owing to a natural spectacle from this place of the snow-capped Himalayan peaks. This is a smoke free property. This property is self-catering.

Banni Mata Temple

Chamba , Himachal Pradesh , India
Banni Mata Temple, also known variously as the Mahakali Banni Mata Temple, is located in Chamba District, a hill station in the State of Himachal Pradesh in north India . This temple is situated at the height of 8,500 feet, right at the base of beautiful Pir Panjal Range in the Chamba Valley. It is an ancient temple dedicated to Devi Kali, a goddess figure in Hinduism. The temple is surrounded by deep forests at the foot of the Himālayas. It is pilgrimage place which hold a rich inclusion of flora and natural beauty. It is famous as Shakti Devi Temple too. It is near to Tundah village and just opposite to Manimahesh Peak. This temple is named as Banni because this place has a lot of Ban trees or Oak trees.

The temple and the goddess are both very important in the Bharmour region. Shepherds crossing Kali Chho pass to Lahaul (Kali is for Goddess Kali and Chho is waterfall, the pass has a waterfall close to it) visit the temple to seek the goddesses blessings for a safe crossing and have done so for ages now. Pilgrims from all over the Bharmour region and other parts of Himachal find their way to the temple to pay obeisance to the goddess. It is believed Goddess Kali grants all wishes and gives children to couples who do not have anyone, making the journey with total devotion and fervor. Sometime around August, in the Bhadrapad month of the Hindu calendar, the fair is organized at the temple and attracts devotees from all around. The fair, in typical Kali Puja style involves severing the heads of many goats. As soon as a goat’s head is severed, the Shaman temple, called Chela in local language and bestowed with special powers by the goddess drinks the blood of the severed goat. It is said he can drink blood from as many goats as are severed at a time and that this ability is a reflection of his being in direct communion with the goddess. Liquor is another common offering and the Chela takes a gulp from each bottle offered.

This temple can be divided into three parts which can physically spread apart. The temple of Sui Mata is on an elevation of Shah Madar Hill. A steep flight of steps comes down to a small pavilion just above the Saho road. From the Saho road the flight of steps continues down to the main town a little to the east of Chauntra Mohalla. At the end of the flight of steps there is another small pavilion with gargoyles with running water. The flight of stone steps to the aqueduct from the Sarota stream was built by Sarda, the Rani of Raja Jeet Singh (1794-1808).

According to the legend when Raja Sahil Varman founded the town and made this aqueduct for water supply to the town the water refused to flow. It was ascribed to supernatural causes. It was prophasized that the spirit of the stream should be propitiated, and the Brahmins, on being consulted that the victim must be the Rani or her son. Another tradition runs that the Raja himself had a dream in which he was directed to offer up his son, where upon the Rani pleaded to be accepted as a substitute. Thus on a appointed day the Rani along with her maidens was buried alive in a grave. The legend goes on to say that when the grave was filled in the water began to flow.